Saturday, 10 December 2016

BeningbroughHall - Yorks

The Bouchier family took ownership of the Beningbrough estate and built an Elizabethan Manor there in 1556, on land looking down on the River Ouse. As the family prospered, so did their ambitions and in 1716 John Bouchier III had the manor razed and a new Georgian red brick house built on a much grander scale.

Some 100 years later the family came to an end and the house was bought in 1827 by the Reverend Wilkin Dawney. As that century drew to a close the house suffered from severe neglect and was in danger of being dismantled.

In 1916 the ruins were bought by the Countess of Chesterfield and she set about rebuilding and restoring the house and grounds. She made a brilliant fist of it and the house was more glorious at the time of her death in 1957 than it had ever been.

Death Duties were huge and in 1958 the management passed to the National Trust. They have maintained the house to the highest standards. The main hall is stunning and 8 of the main rooms are given over to major art displays. The Italianate garden remembes the Bouchier influence in the shape of the Bouchier knot carved into the lawns.

Beningbrough Hall - YO30 1DD

www.nationaltrust.org.uk/beningbrough-hall-gallery-and-gardens

The Bouchier Knot


No comments:

Post a Comment