Wednesday, 21 December 2016

Hagley Hall - Worcestershire

There has been a house on the site of Hagley Park for more than 700 years. Nothing much is known about the first building but there is some evidence that it was reshaped as a half-timbered Tudor Style building sometime during the 14th century.


The estate and house were home to the Lyttelton Family, and they still maintain ownership. The family survived an unfortunate involvement in the Gunpowder Plot and one member went on the run for more than two months, eventually attempting to hide out at Hagley, but was betrayed by servants.


George, 1st Lord Lyttleton took over the estate and deer park in 1751. Between the years 1754 to 1760 he had the old house replaced by a Neo-Palladian grand house and this was the pride and joy of the family for 160 years.


However, in 1925 there was a devastating fire that destroyed most of the building. Reeling from the shock the incumbent at that time contemplated razing everything, but instead set about restoring as much as he could. Only the upstairs servants quarters were never rebuilt and are still unusable today.


Hagley Hall is open to the public and is also available as a venue for weddings and other major shows, productions and exhibitions. We had the run of part of the house several times on major car launches and were always impressed by the levels gone to in restoring major damage.


Near the house, in the grounds, is the charming church of St John the Baptist. The original church was built at the time of the original house. The current church was built at the same time as the current hall, but was extended and reshaped some 100 years later.


DY9 9LG

 

St John the Baptist



No comments:

Post a Comment